# <sup>1st</sup> Session of the 48<sup>th</sup> Synod Contested Elections – Report to the President of the Synod

To the President, Archbishop Peter Jensen

Mr J D Schreuder

In accordance with rule 5.4(6)(b) of the Schedule to the Synod Elections 2000, I hereby report as follows –

- (i) The number of formal and informal ballot papers in the election is as shown below,
- (ii) The following is a complete list of names of the nominees for the office, together with the number of votes recorded for each nominee, and indicates the name of the person to be declared elected.

1.	STANDING COMMITTEE – Persons from the Northern Region elected by regional electors of the Northern Region (Standing Committee Ordinance 1897)	Ballot Papers	Votes Recorded
	Formal Informal	136 6	
	Total	142	
	2 qualified ministers, who are not ex-officio members of Standing Comm to be elected for 3 years	ittee,	
	The Rev R J Smith The Rev P J H Wheeler		114 99
	Not elected		
	The Rev E C S Chau		54
2.	THE COUNCIL OF ABBOTSLEIGH (Abbotsleigh Ordinance 1924)		
	Formal Informal	434 36	
	Total	470	
	2 laymen to be elected for 4 years		
	Mr D S Marr Mr P T Nicholson		283 287
	Not elected		
	Mr M M Middlebrook		155

130

## 3. ANGLICAN CHURCH PROPERTY TRUST DIOCESE OF SYDNEY

(Anglican Church Property Trust Diocese of Sydney Ordinance 1965)

Formal Informal	448 24
Total	472
4 persons to be elected for 6 years, at least of	ne of whom must be in Holy Orders
Mr G J Bridge Mr D J Nelson	310 321
Archdeacon P J R Smart Mr R Tong	407 393
Not elected	
Mr C E Bannerman	135
Mr R B York	132

### 4. DIOCESAN REPRESENTATIVES ON GENERAL SYNOD

(General Synod Representation Ordinance 1986)

Formal	451
Informal	21
Total	472

### 28 lay persons to be elected for 3 years

Professor C R Bellenger       393         Mr G O Blake       407         Dr M H Cameron       395         Mr N M Cameron       388         Miss S M Cole       399         Mrs W D Colquhoun       408         Ms D Earnshaw       397         Mr C G Ellis       392         Miss J S Flower       409         Mr P C Gerber       420         Mr G J Marks       406         Mr D S Marr       403         Mr I C Miller       400         Dr B C Newman       404         Mr M A Payne       417         Miss M M Philp       392         Mrs L Ramsay       403         Deaconess M A Rodgers       422         Dr L A Scandrett       405         Dr P A Selden       405         Dr K N Sowada       404         Mr R Tong       401         Mr S Tong       401         Mr S Tong       401         Mr S Tong       405         Mr Justice P W Young'       406
--

#### Not elected

5.	THE COUNCIL OF ILLAWARRA GRAMMAR SCHOOL (The Illawarra Grammar School Ordinance 1958)		
	Formal Informal	427 44	
	Total	471	
	1 member of the clergy to be elected for 4 years		
	The Rev S G Barrett		304
	Not elected		
	The Rev B J Lee		123
6.	SOUTH SYDNEY REGIONAL COUNCIL (Regions Ordinance 1995)		
	Formal Informal	89 4	
	Total	93	
	4 ministers from the Region (at least 1 minister from each Area Deanery) years by the regional electors of the South Sydney Region	to be elected f	or 3
	The Rev A G E Barraclough (Leichhardt) The Rev D Steele (Leichhardt) The Rev C S Braga (Strathfield) The Rev A P Katay (Strathfield)		68 63 71 72
	Not elected		
	The Rev Dr T D Foster (Leichhardt)		41
7.	SOUTH SYDNEY REGIONAL COUNCIL (Regions Ordinance 1995)		
	Formal Informal	88 5	
	Total	93	
	9 lay persons from the Region (at least 1 lay person from each Area Dea for 3 years by the regional electors of the South Sydney Region	nery) to be elec	ted
	Mr R Arkell (Leichhardt) Mrs C Crump (Leichhardt) Mr K C Breakspear (Randwick) Dr K R Simpson (Randwick) Mrs E A Boyce(Strathfield) Dr R C Claxton (Strathfield) Mrs S England (Sydney East) Mr R J Freeman (Sydney South) Mr M Wormell (Sydney South)		74 71 70 64 71 68 77 78 74
	Not elected		
	Miss A J Watson (Sydney East)		47

Returning Officer
15 October 2008
I HEREBY DECLARE the person named above to be elected to the office shown.
Archbishop of Sydney
15 October 2008