41/94 Select Committee re Clerical **Enquiries**

(A report from a Synod Committee.)

- The Select Committee was appointed by Synod with the following terms of reference -
- to review the administration of the Tribunal Ordinance and the Incapacity and Inefficiency Ordinance;
- to take over the functions of the Committee appointed by Standing Committee to review Parish Disputes procedures;
- to prepare draft ordinances to put into effect any recommendations arising out of its enquiries.
- The elected members of the Select Committee are -

Canon I.W. Cox The Rev D.L. Crain Archdeacon G.R. Huard The Rev P.J. Tasker Bishop R.G. Smith

The Rev B.A. Ballantine-Jones Professor C.R. Bellenger Mrs W.D. Colquhoun Mr R.S. Dredge Mr P.C.G. Gerber Dr F.S. Piggin Ms K.N. Sowada Dr A. Young

- Professor Bellenger resigned with effect from 19 August 1995.
- In accordance with Standing Orders the first meeting was fixed by the President for 4 May 1995. Mr P.C. Gerber was elected Chairman and Bishop R.G. Smith was elected Deputy Chairman. Mr M.A. Payne was appointed as Secretary.
- The Committee has formed into 4 working sub-groups to deal respectively with the following -
- (a) Biblical and theological issues.
- Clergy tenure and Parish rights/responsibilities.
- Past/present practices and other approaches outside Sydney Diocese.
- (d) Procedure for handling the Committee's enquiries.
- Having considered the issues encompassed in the terms of reference, the extent of the workload which arises and the time available the Committee is of the view that the deadline set by Synod, "to report to the 1996 session of Synod", cannot be met.
- The Standing Committee has given the Committee leave to report to the 1997 session of Synod.

For and on behalf of the Select Committee

PHILIP GERBER Chairman 26 June 1995