# Elections for the 2001 session of the 45<sup>th</sup> Synod

# **Uncontested Elections**

In accordance with clause 4.1 of the Schedule to the Synod Elections Ordinance 2000, we hereby certify that the following nominations of persons are not in excess of the number of persons required to be elected.

## 1. Anglican Church Property Trust Diocese of Sydney

(Ordinance 1965)

Note: At least 1 of the persons selected must be a person in Holy Orders. 2 persons elected for 6 years Mr G J Bridge Mr R Neal 1 person elected for 3 years

The Rev G M Bell

# 2. Sydney Anglican Home Mission Society Council (Anglicare)

(Ordinance 1971)

3 persons elected for 3 years Mr D Barnsdall Mr D R Lewarne Mr G Willinge

## 3. Anglican Retirement Villages Diocese of Sydney

(Ordinance 1961) 1 person elected for 1 year Prof J Yeo

### 4. Anglican Youth and Education Division: Diocese of Sydney

(Ordinance 1997) 1 member of the clergy elected for 3 years The Rev C R Bale 1 member of the clergy elected for 2 years The Rev P Edney 1 member of the clergy elected for 1 year The Rev A Katay 1 person elected for 3 years

Mr R S Dredge

# 5. Arden Anglican School Council

(Ordinance 1962)

Note: At least 3 persons elected must be clergymen 4 persons elected for 3 years Mr C Burton The Rev G N Collison Mr A Harper The Rev R McDonald

1 person elected for 2 years The Rev M Charleston

1 person elected for 1 year Mr A P Bryson

#### 6. Arundel House Council

(Ordinance 1977)

3 persons elected for 3 years

Dr M Myerscough Mrs R Pidgeon Mrs M Wesley

2 persons elected for 2 years Mr A Longhurst Mrs E Lovell

1 person elected for 1 year Ms D Mills

#### 7. Barker College, The Council of

(Ordinance 1978)

2 clergymen elected for 3 years The Rev R Chilton The Rev M J Crichton

2 laypersons elected for 3 years Mrs A M Judd Mr I C Miller

1 layperson elected for 2 years Mr M Tooker

#### 8. Continuing Education for Ministers

(Ordinance 1989)

1 layperson elected for 3 years Mr N Hatton

## 9. Diocesan Representatives on Council of Churches in NSW

(Constitution of the Council)

2 persons elected for 1 year 2 Vacancies to be filled

#### 10. Department of Evangelism, Board of Management

(Ordinance 1978)

*3 persons elected for 1 year* Mr J Barnes The Rev S M King Mr G Middleton

## 11. Diocesan Representatives on General Synod

(Ordinance 1986)

5 members of the clergy elected for 1 year The Rev C R Bale Canon T K Dein The Rev B J Hall The Rev N Jarrett The Rev S C Semenchuk

2 laypersons elected for 1 year

Mr R S Dredge Mr Justice P W Young

#### 12. "Gilbulla" Board of Management

(Ordinance 1962)

4 persons elected for 1 year Mr J Cross Mr R S Dredge The Rev Dr L M Stoddart Mr M R Thearle

## 13. Illawarra Grammar School, The Council of The

(Ordinance 1958)

2 laypersons elected for 4 years Mrs J Starky Mr R Summerill

1 layperson elected for 2 years Mr R Oxley

## 14. King's School, The Council of The

(Ordinance 1922) 1 clergyman elected for 1 year Vacancy to be filled

## 15. Macarthur Region Anglican Church School, Council of The

(Ordinance 1982)

2 persons elected for 3 years Dr A K Bevis Mr G R S Kyngdon

## 16. Mission to Seafarers, Sydney Port Committee, The

(Synod Resolution 10/63)

2 persons elected for 1 year2 Vacancies to be filled

# 17. Moore Theological College Council

(Ordinance 1984)

2 clergymen elected for 3 years The Rev Dr G N Davies The Rev Dr R N Mirrington

2 laypersons elected for 3 years Mr J E Creelman Dr W J Hurditch

### 18. Presentation Board

(Ordinance 1988) 1 layperson elected for 1 year Mr J E Creelman

## 19. St Catherine's School, Waverley, Council of

(Ordinance 1922) 1 clergyman elected for 4 years The Rev J H L Johnstone 1 clergyman elected for 3 years The Rev R Lane

2 laymen elected for 4 years Mr I C Walker Mr A J Willis

1 woman elected for 4 years Mrs J Guy

who o eay

1 woman elected for 2 years Mrs M Forsyth

#### 20. Sydney Anglican Car and Insurance Fund Board Sydney Church of England Finance and Loans Board

3 members of the clergy, 1 elected for 1, 2 and 3 years

The Rev P A S Cohen The Rev T J Halls The Rev B G Roberts

6 laypersons elected for 1, 2 and 3 years Mr P Burgess Mr J R Dale

Mr C Lees Mr J Pascoe Mr B Robinson Mr K Thomas

## 21. Sydney Anglican Schools Corporation

(Ordinance 1947)

8 persons elected for 3 years Mr C Cornick The Rev D H Courtney Archdeacon A F Donohoo Mr D Harwin Mrs L C Ramsay Mrs E Selleck Mr R J Stevens Mr L Thewlis

1 person elected for 1 year Mrs R Corbett

## 22. Sydney Church of England Grammar School Council

(Ordinance 1923)

1 licensed clergyman in priests orders elected for 4 years The Rev S G E Smith

1 licensed clergyman in priests orders elected for 1 year The Rev W M France

### 23. Tara Anglican School for Girls, Council of

(Ordinance 1956)

1 member of the clergy elected for 3 years The Rev N Macken 1 layperson elected for 3 yearsMrs G Akers1 layperson elected for 1 yearMrs B Hubbard

### 24. Trinity Grammar School, Council of

(Ordinance 1928)

2 clergymen elected for 3 years The Rev D J West The Rev J W Wise

2 laypersons elected for 3 years Mr D Cheetham Mr P M Meldrum

# 25. William Branwhite Clarke College Council

(Ordinance 1987)

1 clergyman elected for 3 years
The Rev J Barrett
1 layperson elected for 3 years
Mr T Moon

C J MORONEY M A PAYNE Secretaries of Synod 17 September 2001

I HEREBY declare the persons concerned elected.

PETER F JENSEN Archbishop of Sydney 26 October 2001

# **Contested Elections**

Under clause 5.4(6)(b) of the Schedule to the Synod Elections Ordinance 2000, I hereby report as follows -

- (a) The number of formal and informal ballot papers in each election.
- (b) The following is a complete list of names of the nominees for each office, together with the number of votes recorded for each nominee. The names have been arranged in the order of the number of votes recorded, beginning with the highest with an indication of the name(s) of the persons to be declared elected.

		Ballot	Votes
1.	Standing Committee - Persons Elected by Synod	Papers	Recorded
	Formal	527	
	Informal Total	<u>14</u> 541	
	1 person in Holy Orders who is a member of Synod elected for 1 year		
	Ramsay, J		337
	Not elected		
	Oakley, T J W		190
2.	Standing Committee - Persons Elected by Synod		
	Formal	524	
	Informal Total	<u>17</u> 541	
		<u>541</u>	
	1 layperson who is a member of Synod elected for 1 year Scandrett, L A		334
			554
	Not elected		100
	Boyce, E A		190
3.	St Andrew's Cathedral Chapter		
	Formal	526	
	Informal Total	<u>15</u> 541	
	3 lay canons elected for 6 years	<u>011</u>	
	Rodgers, M A		475
	Cole, A		466
	Kalder, P		425
	1 lay canon elected for 5 years		
	Lambert, R H Y		420
	1 lay canon elected for 1 year		
	Bishop, J B		369
	Not elected		
	Gerber, P C		351
4.	Continuing Education for Ministers		
	Formal	508	
	Informal Total	<u>33</u> 541	
		<u>571</u>	
	1 clergyman elected for 3 years Taylor, G C		234
	rayior, O C		204

	Not elected Robinson, P K B Morgan, B K		174 100
5.	The Illawarra Grammar School, The Council of Formal Informal Total	515 <u>26</u> 541	
	1 clergyman elected for 4 years Duchesne, D G		349
	Not elected Lee, B J		166
6.	Sydney Diocesan Superannuation Fund Board Formal Informal Total	517 <u>24</u> 541	
	2 persons as employer directors elected for 1 year Dredge, R S Flavin, J		472 324
	Not elected Poucher, S		203

M R THEARLE Returning Officer

30 October 2001

I declare these persons elected

PETER F JENSEN Archbishop of Sydney

2 November 2001